Surf! Surf! Surf!

Tasmania has brung me some great luck with waves over the past few weeks.

After getting fun waves on the West Coast. I decided to make tracks, find some waves on the East Coast and try to pick up some work. Before heading back to the mainland for the RipCurl pro at Bells Beach, around Easter.

I rode to South East Cape, the southern most point of Tasmania to tick that one off the list. It was a long weekend, the camp grounds were packed but it was a beautiful area. I snuck into a walking track on the Mule and found a secluded spot on the headland to my self. After 3 nights of living off fresh fish and Abalone, there was no waves so I hit the beaten path again in hope to get wet.

20140321-125144.jpg

20140321-125821.jpg

I made my way up through Hobart, stopping in at Mt Wellington to look over the top of what Hobart has to offer. The view at the summit was stunning. The temperature difference from 30 minutes down the road must have been at least 10-15 degrees! I was sweating it out in the Hobart traffic and freezing cold at the top of Wellington.

20140326-185440.jpg

It was getting late into the afternoon, I was cruising along looking for a place to set up the tent when I saw the sign for the ferry to Bruny Island. Next thing I know, I’m at a place called Cloudy Bay with the tent pitched, dinner cooked, sipping on a cup of dirty red, watching the sun set over the mainland land of Tasmania.

20140326-190054.jpg

About 5 minutes after checking in on my Spot Device. I received a phone call from my Nan & Pop. They had booked me a spot on the Bruny Island cruise for my birthday the very next day.
What an insane experience! The cruise went for about 3 hours and covered the whole South East arm of Bruny Island. I got to experience, dolphins jumping in the surf of the boat, seals sun baking on the rocks of smalls Islands, albatross gliding across the top of the waves all with the magnificent back drop of the jagged cliffs and coast line. A massive thank you to my beautiful Grandparents for the generous birthday present, such a fun day!

20140326-190904.jpg

20140326-191012.jpg

20140326-191101.jpg

20140326-191147.jpg

I stayed at Cloudy Bay on Bruny for the next few nights, surfing, fishing and being lazy. I had Shipsterns Bluff on my mind and the swell forecast was looking good for the following week.

The Tasman Peninsula had a lot to offer. I ran into a German guy by chance, that I had met a few weeks earlier at Marrawah. He invited me to camp on his property at Roaring Beach. Not knowing that he owned the top of the only whole hill that looks over the beach. I took up his offer and he rondevue’d at the beach later in the day. The surf was on shore so headed to his house. Stefan lived in a small humpy, but had everything he needed for simple living. He offered for me to sleep in the cave, reluctantly I said “sweet, sounds good!” Turns out this cave had the best view in the world and the second most comfiest mattress!
The next two days were spent, waking up to extraordinary views, surfing, picking fresh blackberrys, eating breakfast on the deck,catching possums, Abalone diving and building a fence using old snow skis as posts.

20140326-192617.jpg

20140326-192705.jpg

20140326-192742.jpg

20140326-192842.jpg

Stay tuned for part II of this blog over the next few days.
In the mean time Go catch some waves or have a burn on your bike!

Keep Riding!
Billy.

1 thought on “Surf! Surf! Surf!

Leave a comment