More Then Just Work

To be able to keep this journey in momentum I need to be able to afford to live without an income. So finding work along the way is the not only good for the bank account but a great way to meet new people and enjoy new experiences as well.

Lucky enough for me I got hooked up from a good mate at home, Sean Condous. “Oh yea, I got a mate in Tassie who might want a hand”
Next thing I know, I’ve aced a few weeks work with Adam Leard at Agricultural Netting Services. Erecting bird nets over fruit orchards in south east Tasmania.

20140428-094101.jpg

I couldn’t have asked for a better gig, working for a better bloke. Adam knew my plans and helped me out in every way he could. He hooked me up with onsite accommodation and invited me into his home with his family on the weekends when there was no work. Giving me a bed to sleep on and keeping me full with some awesome meals. All this while having Tim, another work mate stay at his house at the same time!
We had some good times at work and on the weekends, between drinking beers on Adam’s deck, camping and shark fishing down at South Arm or surfing 2ft slop with Tim in the freezing Tassie waster. There was never a dull moment.

20140428-095758.jpg

20140428-100016.jpg

20140428-100321.jpg

On my second last night in Tasmania, Adam and Kylie had me over for dinner. We ate like kings, and drank a bit too. Adam and Kylie’s sons, Sam and Connor, drew me pictures and made me bracelets to take ahead on my journey.

20140428-101501.jpg

One last massive thanks to Adam and Kylie, with out people like them this dream would not be possible! I hope I can come back and work for you again in the not to distant future!

After leaving Adam and Kylie’s place at sun break, I had to make it to nearly the other side of the state to get new tyres fitted that afternoon. I saw all four seasons that day, rain on the way out of Hobart, ice on the road in the highlands and beautiful spring lunch coming through Golden Valley then the heat of Devonport in the early afternoon.

I headed to Zane’s Bikes n Bits, Zane helped me out with a front and rear Mitas e-07 and new brake pads all round for a good price.
My rear brakes were so worn they looked as though it had been metal on metal the whole trip! It took a good 10 minutes of grinding to get the disc to resemble anything of a new one.

20140428-151115.jpg

After the Mule being fitted her new shoes and an era of trip with in hours of ending. I called up Darren Nightingale, I had met Darren, his brother Marcus and they’re old man Rob. At a place called Macquarie Heads, Only a week or so after it had began the Tasmanian leg of the trip.
Between the three of they knew Tassie inside out and could tell me countless awesome places to go.
I got in touch with Darren and I made my way out to his place, we had a coffee and Darren showed me his pride Joy, it was a mint as Kawasaki Z900. Darren started it up for me, I became weak at the knees and almost hit the deck.

20140428-152409.jpg

Darren’s wife Jodie cooked us a brilliant meal and we went and caught up with Marcus one last time. Before heading back to Darren’s for some shut eye.
Running on minimum sleep I left the comfort of Darren’s spare bed trying not to wake the household and rolled into Devonport to jump on the ferry back to the big island.
I was so lucky I didn’t have to pitch my tent on the last night, thanks to Darren and Jodie!
Looking back on Tasmania there is still a lot more I need to see, a lot more I want to do, and new friends to catch up with. I can’t wait to go back!!

20140428-153928.jpg

Keep Riding!
Billy

2 thoughts on “More Then Just Work

  1. Glad it worked out mate, they are top people and from all reports they were really stoked with you too ! Ride on biker bro πŸ™‚

Leave a comment